In area local races decided by voters Tuesday, Ostrander had close voting while Spring Valley had only incumbents on the ballot and the third seat on the Kingsland board was still uncertain Wednesday morning and may continue to be so until the canvassing board meeting Friday morning.

In Ostrander, it was an extremely tight race for council with Heidi Jones getting 67 votes, Erin Brugh getting 59 votes, John Schraeder 57 votes and Vernon Thompson 49 votes. Voters chose two people for the two open positions. Patrick Nesler ran unopposed for mayor.

In Wykoff, two former city council members faced off for mayor with Lyman Hare winning with 70 percent of the vote over Tim Grabau. For the two open council seats, Mitchell Grabau had 180 votes, Megan Larson 152 votes and Gerald Jacobson had 56 votes.

Only incumbents filed in Spring Valley. Jim Struzyk was re-elected mayor while Jeff Vehrenkamp and Bill Bires were re-elected to the council.

The Kingsland School Board race had just two names on the ballot for three positions. Incumbent Kristen Beck received 1,909 votes and newcomer Gwen Howard had 1,721 votes. Write-ins received 541 votes.

A review of the write-in totals on the Fillmore County abstract shows Troy Asher with a significant lead over Sean McCaslin, but there are complexities with write-in candidates, particularly since the district extends slightly into Mower County, and results are still unofficial as of Wednesday. The canvassing board for Kingsland is set to meet Friday, 7 a.m.

In the legislative races, Miller and Davids were re-elected to office although they will be in the minority party as the DFL gained control of the Senate and House. Miller polled 57.1 percent of the vote in the district against Jack Krage. He carried all precincts in Fillmore County except Canton Township, Mabel and Peterson.

Davids beat DFL challenger Ken Tschumper with 58.2 percent of the vote in District 28B. He carried every precinct in the county except Holt Township, Lanesboro, Mabel and Peterson.

The marriage amendment, which was voted down statewide with just 47.7 percent support, had a slight edge in Fillmore County with all precincts except Carrolton Township, Harmony, Lanesboro and Peterson favoring the measure. A total of 56.9 percent of the voters in Fillmore County supported the amendment.

The county followed the state trend in the voter ID amendment, voting it down with just 36.7 percent of the voters supporting it, less than the 46.4 percent it received statewide. The only precinct in Fillmore County that had a majority of yes votes was Sumner Township.

For president, Fillmore County voters favored Obama with a 52.6 percent tally, Klobuchar with 64.7 percent and Walz with 61.3 percent. All three are DFL members.

Only incumbents filed at the county level with Thomas Kaase, Chuck Amunrud and Marc Prestby getting re-elected. Leonard Leutink, Pamela Mensink and Travis Wilford were elected soil and water supervisors.